SMCC students named to the 2024 MCCS All-Maine Academic Team

AUGUSTA, ME (MCCS) – Nineteen Maine community college students have been named to the All-Maine Academic Team in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service.MAINE All Academic

The students receiving the award and a $500 scholarship from the Maine Community College System (MCCS) Board of Trustees, are:

  • Destiny Worster, Oxford, Southern Maine Community College
  • Fatimah Lamloom, Portland, Southern Maine Community College
  • Brandon Marshall, Scarborough, Southern Maine Community College
  • Chelsey Chapman, Pittston, Central Maine Community College in Auburn
  • Jonathan Gosselin, Topsham, Central Maine Community College
  • Brianna Proctor, Wales, Central Maine Community College
  • Mason Rogers, Kensington, NH, Central Maine Community College
  • Katahdin Javner, Chester, Eastern Maine Community College in Bangor
  • Elizabeth Sivret, Calais, Eastern Maine Community College
  • Kiera Clark, Skowhegan, Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield/Hinckley
  • Catalina Fernandez-Grant, Belfast, Kennebec Valley Community College
  • Luz Maria Seda Libby, Palermo, Kennebec Valley Community College
  • Crystal MacGown, Bath, Kennebec Valley Community College.
  • Lucas Castles, Gorham, Northern Maine Community College in Presque Isle.
  • Troy Hipsley, Houlton, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Jalen Lucas, Edinburgh, Trinidad & Tobago, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Islakeno Mahabir, Enterprise, Trinidad & Tobago, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Kayla Taylor, Raymond, Washington County Community College in Calais.
  • Amanda Kenney, Wells, York County Community College, in Wells.

In addition, Catalina Fernandez-Grant (KVCC) and Elizabeth Sivret (EMCC) have been named Maine New Century Scholars for earning the highest scores in the state on their All-USA Academic Team applications.

Sivret has been named the 2024 Maine New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar and will receive a $2,250 scholarship.

Fernandez-Grant is the 2024 Maine New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Katahdin Javner (EMCC) was one of only 50 students nationwide named a Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

The Coca-Cola Foundation, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the American Association of Community Colleges, and Phi Theta Kappa sponsor the New Century Pathway Scholarship program. Only one New Century Transfer and Workforce Scholar is selected from each state.

The All-Maine Academic Team is a program of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Students are nominated and selected for the team by their college.