Campus Connections, Top Stories, May 23


Nielsen, Burpee named sports persons of the year

Abby Nielsen and Caleb Burpee have been named SMCC’s Sports Persons of the Year.

Abby and Caleb were among student-athletes honored at the May 10 Athletics Awards ceremony.

Abby was two-sport athlete, playing softball and basketball for the Lady SeaWolves. She was a starting outfielder for the softball team and a starting guard on the basketball team.

Caleb was a baseball standout, playing outfield while batting .363 with three homers.

Basketball players Vanese Barnes and John Morgan were named most-improved athletes.

Ville Wuorenjuuri, who played both basketball and golf, received the Tim Hagerman Scholarship Award.

Zach Masiello was awarded the John Dakin Award, which goes to a non-student athlete for their support of SMCC athletics.



SMCC pays tribute to longtime employees, retirees

SMCC paid tribute to dozens of employees for reaching employment milestones or retirement.

At an employee recognition ceremony May 4, employees reaching milestone years of service with the college received congratulations along with appreciatory items ranging from key chains and tote bags to framed photos and college chairs.

Among those recognized were:

  • 5 years of service: Anne Applin, Elizabeth Bailey, Geoff Boardman, Meg Broderick, Samantha Brown, Ron Cantor, Seth Doane, Brenda Downey, Aaron Ford, Dianne Fredette, Katherine Gergosian, Michael Hart, Stacy Kardash, Patrick Kenny, Amy Lee, Joe Moore, Tom Narciso, Corey Norman, Mike Pacillo, Glenn Shaw, John Theroux and Becky Woods.
  • 10 years of service: Tim Barnes, Carla Birt, Joan DeCosta, Susan Garrett, Joseph Jones, Lisa Keenan, Sandra Lynham, Walter Morris, Bryan Strniste and Eric Wellman.
  • 15 years of service: Brian Hamel, Kevin Kimball, Tom McVey, Tony Poulin, Sally Powers and Cheryl Rich.
  • 20 years of service: Joyce Menges, Jan Veinot and Gerry Zarrilli • 30 years of service: Lisa Dolan and Louise Parise
  • 35 years of service: Jay Reny

Those retiring from SMCC this year include Cindy Almeida (34 years of service), Cherie Bryant (26 years), Florence Chambers (15 years), Molly Chancey (28 years), James Feeney (43 years), Vincent Ferguson (11 years), Paul Laslie (13 years), Mark Lundy (29 years), Bill McClaran (38 years), Terri Petnov (25 years), Cindy Rand (5 years) and Naomi Wilson (22 years).



Fire Science students feel the heat

Fire Science students were under pressure this month when they presented thesis portfolios to fire chiefs and other officials — future employers, perhaps? — from area fire departments.

Twenty-nine students (including, in photo, Keven Larsen) made portfolio presentations for their Fire Administration course the first week of May.

The panelists reviewing the student work included fire chiefs and top officials from fire departments in Scarborough, Falmouth, North Yarmouth and other municipalities, as well as some SMCC faculty and staff.

The portfolios serve to document that the students have attained the desired learning outcomes as well as personal and professional growth.

The presentations provide a realistic experience that help students prepare for job interviews.